Chapter Awards

South Haven Steelheaders Awards Committee

The Awards Committee consists of the last three years’ members who received the “Steelheader of the Year” Award, with the oldest recipient with two years of experience being the Chairperson. The selection of Committee Members can be changed at any time as deemed necessary by the Board of Directors. The Awards Committee makes a recommendation to the Board of Directors for consideration and the Board, at its discretion may act on the recommendation. The “Steelheader of the Year Award” is the only Award expected to be given annually. All other Awards are at the discretion of the Committee and Board.

Recognition Awards:

Steelheader of the Year:
This award is given to the person who has given significant time and effort for the good of the club. Normally only one award is given. However, in instances where two nominees are equally qualified, they both may be considered.

Leon Steinmiller Award:
This memorial award was created in 2013 and is given by the Board to a worthy recipient(s) who demonstrates the above and beyond attitude when volunteering for club projects. The purpose of this Award is to recognize a Chapter member who has consistently gone above and beyond expectations, volunteered his/her time, worked tirelessly, often behind the scenes, without recognition, to support a variety of Chapter activities.

Special Award:
To an individual who has given many hours to many projects that have supported the Chapter in community projects and fundraising.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
This Award goes to the person who has shown leadership and dedication to the Chapter for many years and has gone far beyond what can be expected.

The Exceptional Long Term Service Award:
Awarded to a member for ten years or more of volunteering for many Steelheader projects and is always there when needed.

Rookie of the Year Award:
This award goes to a new member who demonstrates the above and beyond attitude when volunteering for club projects.

Certificates of Appreciation:
Given to members who have volunteered in Chapter projects.